蓝牙核心规格

蓝牙设备的构成组件。

蓝牙核心规格定义各种技术构成组件,开发人员可以用它们来创建构成繁荣的蓝牙生态系统的互操作性设备。蓝牙规格由蓝牙技术联盟 (SIG) 负责监督,并由Bluetooth SIG 工作组 定期更新和补充,以满足不断发展的技术和市场要求。 

蓝牙的两种类型

部署最为普遍的两种规格为蓝牙基础率/增强数据率 (BR/EDR)(采用版本为 2.0/2.1)和低耗能 (LE) 蓝牙(采用版本为 4.0/4.1/4.2)。每项部署都有不同的用例,同时采用不同的芯片以满足基本硬件要求。双模芯片也适用于包含两种用例的应用。

存在哪些差异?

  • 蓝牙 BR/EDR可建立相对较短距离的持续无线连接,因此非常适用于流式音频等应用
  • 蓝牙 LE可建立短时间的长距离无线电连接,非常适用于无需持续连接但依赖电池具有较长寿命的的物联网 (IoT) 应用
  • 双模双模芯片可支持需要连接 BR/EDR 设备(例如音频耳机)以及 LE 设备(例如穿戴设备或零售信标)的单一设备(例如智能手机或平板电脑)

核心系统结构

尽管每项部署都有具体要求(详见蓝牙规格),但蓝牙核心系统结构有许多统一要素。该系统包含射频收发器、基带和协议栈,支持设备连接和交换各类数据。

蓝牙设备交换根据蓝牙规格协议信号。核心系统协议包括射频 (RF) 协议、链路控制 (LC) 协议、链路管理器 (LM) 协议以及逻辑链路控制和适配协议 (L2CAP),蓝牙规格详细定义了这些协议。

最低的三个系统层—射频、链路控制和链路管理器协议—通常被归属于称为蓝牙控制器的子系统。这是一种采用可选标准接口—主机控制器接口 (HCI)—的通用部署,支持与蓝牙系统的其他设备(即蓝牙主机)进行双向通信。

主控制器可能是以下配置之一,具体取决于用例:

  • BR/EDR 控制器,包括射频、基带、链路管理器和可选 HCI
  • LE 控制器,包括 LE PHY、链路层和可选 HCI
  • BR/EDR 组合控制器和 LE 控制器,组合控制器共享一个蓝牙设备地址

蓝牙规格通过定义等效层之间交换的协议信息来实现系统之间的互操作性。它还通过定义蓝牙控制器和蓝牙主机之间的公用接口来实现独立蓝牙子系统之间的互操作性。

蓝牙栈

物理 (PHY) 层

通过蓝牙通信信道控制 2.4Ghz 射频的传输/接收。BR/EDR 提供的信道较多但带宽较窄,而 LE 使用的信道较少但带宽较宽。

链路层

定义数据包结构/信道、发现/连接程序以及发送/接收数据。

直接测试模式

允许测试人员向 PHY 层发出指令以传输或接收给定数据包序列,通过 HCI 或 2 线 UART 接口提交命令。

主机控制器接口 (HCI)

蓝牙控制器子系统(底部三层)和蓝牙主机之间的可选标准接口。

逻辑链路控制和适配协议 (L2CAP) 层

基于数据包的协议,可将数据包传输至 HCI 或直接传输到无主机系统中的链路管理器。支持更高级别的协议多路复用、数据包分割和重组,以及将服务质量信息传输到更高层。

属性协议 (ATT)

在建立连接之后定义数据交换客户端/服务器协议。使用通用属性配置文件 (GATT) 将属性分类为有意义的服务。ATT 主要用于 LE 部署,偶尔也会用于 BR/EDR 部署。

安全管理器

定义管理蓝牙设备之间配对完整性、身份验证以及加密的协议和操作,提供安全功能工具箱,其他组件可利用该工具箱支持不同应用所需的各种安全级别。

通用属性配置文件 (GATT)

使用属性协议,GATT 对封装设备组件性能的服务进行分组,并描述基于 GATT 功能的用例、角色和一般性能。其服务框架定义服务规程和格式及其特性,其中包括发现、读取、写入、通知以及指示特性以及配置特性广播。GATT 仅用于蓝牙 LE 部署。 详细了解 GATT 信息。 

通用访问配置文件(GAP)

可与蓝牙 LE 部署中的 GATT 配合使用,以定义与发现蓝牙设备和共享信息相关的规程和角色,以及连接蓝牙设备的链路管理内容。

Bluetooth Core Specification

The building blocks of your Bluetooth device.

The Bluetooth® core specification defines the technology building blocks that developers use to create the interoperable devices that make up the thriving Bluetooth ecosystem. The Bluetooth specification is overseen by the Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG) and is regularly updated and enhanced by Bluetooth SIG Working Groups to meet evolving technology and market needs. 

Two flavors of Bluetooth

The two most prevalent implementations of the specification are Bluetooth Basic Rate/Enhanced Data Rate (BR/EDR), which was adopted as version 2.0/2.1, and Bluetooth with low energy (LE), which was adopted as version 4.0/4.1/4.2. Each implementation has different use cases and each implementation uses a different chipset to meet essential hardware requirements. Dual-mode chipsets are also available for applications that include both use cases.

What’s the difference?

  • Bluetooth BR/EDRestablishes a relatively short-range, continuous wireless connection, which makes it ideal for use cases such as streaming audio
  • Bluetooth with low energy functionality (LE)allows for short bursts of long-range radio connection, making it ideal for Internet of Things (IoT) applications that don’t require continuous connection but depend on long battery life
  • Dual-Mode—dual-mode chipsets are available to support single devices such as smartphones or tablets that need to connect to both BR/EDR devices (such as audio headsets) and LE devices (such as wearables or retail beacons)

Core System Architecture

While each implementation has specific requirements that are detailed in the Bluetooth specification, the Bluetooth core system architecture has many consistent elements. The system includes an RF transceiver, baseband and protocol stacks that enable devices to connect and exchange a variety of classes of data.

Bluetooth devices exchange protocol signaling according to the Bluetooth specification. Core system protocols are the radio (RF) protocol, link control (LC) protocol, link manager (LM) protocol and logical link control and adaptation protocol (L2CAP), all of which are fully defined in the Bluetooth specification.

The lowest three system layers—the radio, link control and link manager protocols—are often grouped into a subsystem known as the Bluetooth controller. This is a common implementation that uses an optional standard interface—the Host to Controller Interface (HCI)—that enables two-way communication with the remainder of the Bluetooth system, called the Bluetooth host.

The primary controller may be one of the following configurations, depending on use case:

  • BR/EDR controller including the radio, baseband, Link Manager and optionally HCI
  • LE controller including the LE PHY, Link Layer and optionally HCI
  • Combined BR/EDR controller and LE controller, with one Bluetooth device address shared by the combined controller

The Bluetooth specification enables interoperability between systems by defining the protocol messages that are exchanged between equivalent layers. It also enables interoperability between independent Bluetooth sub-systems by defining the common interface between Bluetooth controllers and Bluetooth hosts.

Bluetooth Stack

Physical (PHY) Layer

Controls transmission/receiving of the 2.4Ghz radio with Bluetooth communication channels. BR/EDR provides more channels with narrower bandwidth, while LE uses fewer channels but broader bandwidth.

Link Layer

Defines packet structure/channels, discovery/connection procedure and sends/receives data.

Direct Test Mode

Allows testers to instruct the PHY layer to transmit or receive a given sequence of packets, submitting commands to it either via the HCI or via a 2-wire UART interface.

Host to Controller Interface (HCI)

Optional standard interface between the Bluetooth controller subsystem (bottom three layers) and the Bluetooth host.

Logical Link Control and Adaptation Protocol (L2CAP) Layer

A packet-based protocol that transmits packets to the HCI or directly to the Link Manager in a hostless system. Supports higher-level protocol multiplexing, packet segmentation and reassembly, and the conveying of quality of service information to higher layers.

Attribute Protocol (ATT)

Defines the client/server protocol for data exchange once a connection is established. Attributes are grouped together into meaningful services using the Generic Attribute Profile (GATT). ATT is used in LE implementations and occasionally in BR/EDR implementations.

Security Manager

Defines the protocol and behavior that manages pairing integrity, authentication and encryption between Bluetooth devices, and provides a toolbox of security functions that other components use to support almost any level of security needed by diverse applications.

Generic Attribute Profile (GATT)

Using the Attribute Protocol, GATT groups services that encapsulate the behavior of part of a device and describes a use case, roles and general behaviors based on the GATT functionality. Its service framework defines procedures and formats of services and their characteristics, including discovering, reading, writing, notifying and indicating characteristics, as well as configuring the broadcast of characteristics. GATT is used only in Bluetooth LE implementations. Get additional in-depth GATT information

Generic Access Profile (GAP)

Works in conjunction with GATT in Bluetooth LE implementations to define the procedures and roles related to the discovery of Bluetooth devices and sharing information, and link management aspects of connecting to Bluetooth devices.