Guiding the Bluetooth SIG

and Bluetooth Wireless Technology

The Bluetooth SIG is led by an independent Board of Directors composed of one representative from each Promoter member company plus up to four Associate Member Directors (AMD). The primary responsibilities of the board include:

  • Operational oversight, including approval of the annual budget, significant expenditures, and member fees
  • Process oversight, including adoption of specifications, establishment of groups and committees, and approval of new specification work
  • Strategic oversight, including approval of future plans, governing documents, and key agreements

The board meets face-to-face once per quarter and via phone twice per month. If you would like to see the details of all the board minutes, please visit our board minutes archive.

Toby Nixon

Chair of the Board of Directors

Senior Standards Program Manager, Windows and Devices Group​
Microsoft Corporation

Robert D. Hughes

Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors

Director of Bluetooth Standards​
Intel Corporation

Katsumi Adachi, Ph.D.

Chief Specialist, Corporate Technology Planning Division​
Toshiba Corporation

Haipeng Jin

Chief Operating Officer
Telink Semiconductor (Shanghai) Co., Ltd

Antti Lappeteläinen

Lead Architect, Local Area Technologies
Nokia Technologies

Alain Michaud

Senior Staff Software Engineer and Connectivity Area Tech Lead​

Magnus Olsson

Standards Management, Group Function Technology​
Ericsson AB

Michael Russell

Advisory Engineer
Motorola Mobility, LLC (a Lenovo Company)

Brian Tucker

Director, Wireless Engineering


The Bluetooth SIG welcomes all ideas and topics members wish to address. Please feel free to send your comments and ideas on strategy, vision and policy here.

 Get Help